How do you sell used sets?

Raf H

Hi, I am new to selling lego. I am planning to sell some of my lego star wars collection on ebay but I need advice. For example, do you ship the set disassembled? If disassembled, do you sort the pieces or is it just a giant pile of bricks? Could you please help me.

Take nice photos of it assembled to show nothing is missing first of all.

Most buyers will prefer to build the set from 0 themselves - that´s the fun of Lego and it will be cheaper to ship too.

If you still have manuals and original boxes then you will be best off taking the sets apartm cleaning and bagging the pieces in some sort of logical order or by size and type. I usually use ice cream tubs or transparent plastic cake boxes as they fit inside most original Lego boxes.

It has been known for buyers to complain whe a used set is sent disassembled so it´s always worth asking the buyer what they want before doing all the extra work.

When I use to sell used lego I would always disassembled the set while working from the instructions in reverse. This way you can kill 2 birds with 1 stone by checking the set is complete and having the pieces placed in numbered bags. I use to get more than the going rate when picturing the parts in numbered bags too, it provides the buyer with more confidience seeing the set built and disassembled in an organised fashion.

Edited by John82
  • Like 1

18 minutes ago, John82 said:

When I use to sell used lego I would always disassembled the set while working from the instructions in reverse. This way you can kill 2 birds with 1 stone by checking the set is complete and having the pieces placed in numbered bags. I use to get more than the going rate when picturing the parts in numbered bags too, it provides the buyer with more confidience seeing the set built and disassembled in an organised fashion.