Hello everyone. New member. Signed up last night

Hello..first I'm Nick and I have a son who's 3 years old and loves Legos and so did I when I was young so we started getting into them and especially we're drawn in by the movie and minifigures to follow. We have bought countless amounts and still missing one in each of our sets(Velma) but I'm defiantly looking to move this to the next level. Seems almost impossible to find any of the good sets from movie on the shelves. So I'm looking to use this site as a guide of info on release dates and tip ****** tricks of collecting. I'm new to Legos but also a big hot wheels collector so I got the collecting background. Even though this seems to be completely different with investing and all that. Any help would be very appreciated. On good sets..good places to look other than the big stores(target, walmart, toys r us, kmart) i live in NW Illinois, USA. No close lego store. But any help or welcome tips would be greatly appreciated. I look forward to learning more about Legos and this website which seems to be the best place for collectors and trading.

NW Illinois!  You have a LegoLand in Shaumburg and a Lego store in Orland Park, Chicago and some other place up here to the east of you.  I've been to Galena a few times, but don't remember a Lego store around there.  

And welcome.  I have a 3 year old, too.  Just bought a bunch of the MIcro Star Wars fighters today, and we are having a ball.  The Tie Interceptor keeps losing a wing, but the Falcon has some staying power for battles.    

Thank you! And we pretty much on the border of Iowa but we defiantly plan on going to stores in the future whenever possible. But where can I find release dates on certain sets? All I've seen for the movie ones is a nice cream battle and some random one that I can't think of bc it's such a small part in it. And I also have picked up the micro fighters. I love them. Got the tie fighter first bc I love the mini fig