General shipping questions, tips and answers

speedpro50

Mod update :  This thread is for all non-technical questions about shipping on eBay and other marketplaces.

-----------------------

I am relatively new to utilizing the eBay shipping tool. I like the convenience of it for sure. To those who have used or still use this tool, who do you normally ship with (USPS or FedEx)? I seem to find that FedEx is the cheaper of the two, but I see people referencing USPS as a cheaper option regularly. When I compare the (inserting package dimensions and weight) I might see $15 for FedEx and $36 for USPS Priority Mail. Am I missing something?

USPS: If the shipping address is close to you or package is under a lb, under 2lb if it is a medium distance.

Fedex: For over 2lb  medium distance and far away packages use fedex unless the package is under 1lb.

One thing to be concerned about is sometimes Fedex can be very slow compared to priority/first class. Also with priority you have a fair amount of free shipping supplies at you disposal.

Edited by njseale

I was researching the requirements for becoming an eBay top rated seller after seeing that those who qualify get a 20% discount off of their final value selling fees. That would be a nice discount for me whose average transaction is $200ish. Are any of you top rated sellers?

For those that are, do you really notice a spike in visibility of your listings?

I am shipping mostly midsized and larger sets. The average weight of the shipment is around 6 pounds.

Use Fedex - it is your cheapest option at your parcel size, even though it is slower.

Another benefit from my experience, both personally and professionally, is that Fedex seems receptive to insurance claims if something goes wrong. 

On top of that, if your package is 6LBs+, then you are probably selling sets starting at $250 so paying the extra couple of dollars for residential delivery is manageable.

If you use Fedex go with smartpost to residential.