Expensive parts - Sets to part out

BP

Question

Hi,

I'm not sure if I'm in the right subforum for this question. 

I'm quite new to the lego buying and selling thing but I'm learning a lot these last couple weeks. 

Thanks to this forum I found out that a 

Pearl Dark Gray Hero Factory Shield with Handle for Clip

brick is worth quite some money thanks to the batpod. 

I have a store nearby that is kinda forgotten by the big public and they have quite some older sets available. 

I cleared out most of the sets worthy of flipping or storing in these last couple of months. 

They have two sets that contain the above mentioned piece so I bought them and almost immediately sold them on bricklink with profit. 

There are some more left so I'm getting them first thing tomorrow. 

Now here's the question:

What other parts are quite expensive and come from rather cheap sets? 

And thus are worth searching for and parting out? 

thanks in advance. 

16 answers to this question

Nobody is going to spoonfeed you this information, but here's a recipe on how to obtain the info yourself:

1. Make a list of sets you can get from this out-of-the-way LEGO seller

2. Download and/or Purchase BrickStock (either the free or the purchased version will do fine for what you need)

3. In BrickStock: Ctrl-I Ctrl-I and search for the set (hint: use the magnifying glass and look for "<setnumber>-1" e.g. "10179-1"

4. Press Ctrl-A Ctrl-G to have BrickStock download all the average 6 month sale prices for all pieces

5. Sort items by Price, look at the most expensive ones

6. Also look at total set part-out value.

7. Make your decisions.

• Like 4

9 minutes ago, Phil B said:

Nobody is going to spoonfeed you this information, but here's a recipe on how to obtain the info yourself:

1. Make a list of sets you can get from this out-of-the-way LEGO seller

2. Download and/or Purchase BrickStock (either the free or the purchased version will do fine for what you need)