41179 - Queen Dragon's Rescue

TheOrcKing

• 5 months later...
  • 5 months later...
  • 5 months later...

Totally new to lego investing here so I'm sorry for the monotonous question I'm sure. I just snagged 41179 for $39.98 clearance and I noticed the dragon alone on ebay has recently sold for as well as some of the book pieces and minifig for ~$5-8. It seems I could make more by parting it out, but I have never tried that before so I'm a little intimidated breaking the deal on the set to try.

Any thoughts on whether to sell the set or part out? If part out, is there a guide to get started? Thanks.

12 minutes ago, BaltimoreBrick said:

Totally new to lego investing here so I'm sorry for the monotonous question I'm sure. I just snagged 41179 for $39.98 clearance and I noticed the dragon alone on ebay has recently sold for as well as some of the book pieces and minifig for ~$5-8. It seems I could make more by parting it out, but I have never tried that before so I'm a little intimidated breaking the deal on the set to try.

Any thoughts on whether to sell the set or part out? If part out, is there a guide to get started? Thanks.

Hi,  we really need more information about YOU and your goals before we can adequately assist you.

Do you plan to keep for a long term hold or a quick flip. 

Long term hold means no parting out (in general)
Quick flip - do whatever sells for the most profit in the fastest turnaround, either as a set or parting out.

Do you plan to part out lots of sets or high volume of a few sets? 

Parting out is a lot work if you aren't prepared for it and many pieces, modules, or minifigs are a tough sell.

Do you create your own designs when building?

If so, you may want to part out the pieces you don't need, including the dragon.