Currently available sets decreasing in value?

aladar

Question

I'm pretty new at this and I'm trying to understand, why have certain current sets decreased in value over the past year? And is this indicative of their future, post-retirement performance? I know they're not going to increase while they're still available, but some of them seem to have dropped quite a bit.

E.g. http://www.brickpicker.com/bpms/set.cfm?set=75094-1 

http://www.brickpicker.com/bpms/set.cfm?set=75102-1

11 answers to this question

This is a reflection of various sales and clearances that occur, mostly in the States, and the quick flippers racing to the lowest possible margins, making pennies at the end of it. These values do not directly indicate post retirement performance, but certainly some insight can be gleaned from watching the trends.. how long it was available at these low prices etc. This can give you some good insight into what the average buy-in cost might look like, and you can be certain some of your competitors got in at that price or lower. You can then factor all that into your own investment strategy to mitigate risks.

There have been some very solid sales on those example sets in the recent months. None of them were available up here. 

Edit: Disclaimer, I've only been at this for a year. These are my observations, but I'm sure some of the more experienced sellers here will agree and perhaps be able to elaborate further. 

Edited by Zelgazra
  • Like 5

5 minutes ago, aladar said:

I'm pretty new at this and I'm trying to understand, why have certain current sets decreased in value over the past year? And is this indicative of their future, post-retirement performance? I know they're not going to increase while they're still available, but some of them seem to have dropped quite a bit.

E.g. http://www.brickpicker.com/bpms/set.cfm?set=75094-1 

http://www.brickpicker.com/bpms/set.cfm?set=75102-1